Regrets

This blog post and article is so eye-opening.

The Five Most Common Regrets.

And each one of them, I’ve thought about for myself and my fella and my future.

1. I wish I had the courage to live a life true to myself, not the life others expected of me.

Interestingly enough, I thought about this about a week ago. When you have a very successful family and an older sister who has been telling you what to do since you were able to understand commands and, sometimes, demands, this idea plays in your mind over and over again. I’ve been reminded that I’m lucky to have a strong family and support team who care about me, but sometimes, I have to wonder what I’d be doing without the direction of some very strong influences. Perhaps my mind in college wouldn’t have changed so many times, my best friend from high school would indeed still be my best friend, I would have stayed in Reno, I would have bought those cute red shoes 3 years ago, I wouldn’t have made a fool of myself by asking that stranger if she taught me when I was 5 years old, I would have just gone on a date with that guy, etc. All of these things are real events that I have thought about more than once. My decision to these matters, came from the influence of another person. What if?

2. I wish I didn’t work so hard.

Ohh, this is a really good one.  Several long, detailed conversations have happened between me and my fiance regarding something so important and something so overrated: WORK.  My former boss was a married man with 2 small children and worked nearly 70 hours a week. He would wake up early, stay late at the office and work through the weekend. He is most likely the hardest working man I know and a very successful business owner. I admire his hard-working qualities, but I don’t admire the fact that he doesn’t get to spend time with his children and his wife. Of course, it’s nice to have pretty, expensive things and a stay-at-home wife, but those things are luxuries. Growing up I always told myself that I would want to stay home with children and let my husband do all of the working and money-making. This was how I was raised and seemed to be the absolute best option for a family. After working with my former boss, I changed my mind. I began to realize what really IS important. I have friends who stay home with their kids while their husbands work 9-15 hour days, not including sleep time. And while it’s nice to have financial stability, it would be a terribly sad life for me. I am so thankful for my fellas job, his hours, his salary and his time off. Working on myself, currently. You’ve got to work to live, not live to work.

3. I wish I’d had the courage to express my feelings

We all know this is NOT my problem. LOL. I know several people who DO have this problem and it breaks my heart. I’ve seen so many people settle, stay upset, get mad and become resentful all because they can’t stand up for themselves and speak their mind. Sometimes its difficult, but living unhappily would be ten times harder for myself.

4. I wish I had stayed in touch with my friends

Luckily, I feel pretty confident about having some true, long-lasting friendships. I know times get busy and life gets crazy, BUT it’s never, ever THAT crazy to lose touch with friends. It’s really not. I’m guilty of trying to make plans with several people and having them fall through, but I am happy to at least know what’s happening in their lives. With communication and technology these days, it’s nearly impossible to NOT stay in touch. Facebook, phone calls, emails, texting, voice notes, blogs, etc. It doesn’t take more than 5 minutes to have a brief conversation with a friend to see how things are going. It drives me crazy to see friendships break because of “life” and “being busy”. Not acceptable.

5. I wish that I had let myself be happier

This one just depresses me. Happiness is a choice. Make it happen. Choose correctly.

Thanks again, so happy to have found this.

Leave a Reply

