Texas

Recently we spent a long weekend in Texas to celebrate my fellas birthday. It was during the same weekend as his 10 year high school reunion. We didn’t go to the actual reunion because of a few different reasons, including tons of rain and flooding and the event being at an outdoor bar. Oops.

Football in Texas is unlike anything I’ve seen in Vegas. I suppose that statement isΒ  obvious, haha. My fella is from the same town/area where they filmed Friday Night Lights.

The high school football stadium is not at the high school. The stadium is built like a college stadium. There’sΒ a jumbo screen near the scoreboard and assigned seats! And sadly, more people at the high school game than at UNLVs college games. Wah,wah,wah. Maybe next year, boys?

Jumbo!

And the coolest part? The state of Texas outlined right in the middle of the field!

TEJAS!

If there is just one thing I love about Texas and Texans, it’s the pride. I like that Texas is so huge and has tons of cities and towns, but when you ask someone where they are from, they’ll still just say “texas”. Unlike, people here who say “vegas” or other places like “san diego” “boston”, etc. Have you noticed that? Texas IS a big deal! πŸ™‚

Also, a funny note: Older women in West Texas get all dolled up every Friday for the games. They get their hair and nails done and make a big night of it out at the game. And they usually don’t even have any children or grandchildren playing in the game! I think that’s so awesome. Well, a little weird but mostly awesome. πŸ˜‰

We also drove by the childhood home of George W Bush.

Just for the record: not my idea and did NOT go inside πŸ˜‰

Sadly, I didn’t get too many pictures! Overall, we had a great trip! πŸ™‚

One response to “Texas

  1. Ahhhh, Texas. I miss it so much. And yes, I’m the same way. I never say “I lived in Fort Worth”, I say “I lived in Texas”. That’s all that matters!!

Leave a Reply

